ONE Warrior Series 8: Japan vs The World results

Kickboxing MMA Muay ThaiHIGHLIGHTED 05.10.2019 16:19h Author:

Emmanuel Onyedikachi vs De’von Morris

Earlier today Rich Franklin’s ONE Warrior Series held its eighth event, ONE WARRIOR SERIES 8: JAPAN VS THE WORLD. Featuring some the world’s fastest rising martial arts talent, the event was held during the ONE Martial Arts Fan Fest at the Bellesalle Shibuya Garden.

In the main event, Emmanuel “The Biafran Warrior” Onyedikachi of Nigeria walked away with a technical decision victory over De’von “Bam Bam” Morris of the United States after an illegal kick to the groin caused a halt to the action in the third and final round.

In the opening stanza, it quickly became apparent that Onyedikachi owned the power advantage after landing two huge left hooks in the first minute of the contest. The Nigerian athlete continuously poured on the pressure, with Morris trying his best to weather the early storm.

Morris would find his mark in the second round, however, but Onyedikachi would remain dangerous throughout the bout.

In the third round, Morris increased his activity, pushing Onyedikachi up against the ropes. Morris then inadvertently connected on a kick to the groin, which prompted the referee to give Onyedikachi a five-minute recovery period. With Onyedikachi unable to continue with just 35 seconds left in the match, the judges reached a technical decision.

In the co main event, Ryoji Kudo of Japan put together an impressive performance, dealing Jerry “Bokodian Warrior” Olsim of the Philippines the first loss of his professional MMA career.

The longer, more powerful Olsim looked to keep the action standing, but Kudo was intent on taking matters to the ground in the first round. The Japanese athlete would shoot for a double-leg takedown in the opening moments of the bout, but Olsim would defend well with a sprawl.

In the second, Kudo turned up the pressure on the feet, doing damage with a well-placed left hook that staggered Olsim momentarily. From then on, Olsim became hesitant and wary of Kudo’s ability to switch seamlessly between his boxing and his wrestling.

In the end, all three ringside judges scored the bout in favour of Kudo to win by unanimous decision.

ONE WARRIOR SERIES 8: JAPAN VS THE WORLD was packed with loads of compelling contests between rising young stars of MMA, kickboxing, and Muay Thai, and is a part of the inaugural ONE Martial Arts Fan Fest, a two-day celebration of martial arts and esports, brought to you by ONE Championship and ONE Esports.

The event kicked off an exciting World Martial Arts Week in Tokyo, which culminates at ONE: CENTURY, ONE Championship’s historic 100th live event taking place at the iconic Ryogoku Kokugikan on Sunday, 13 October.


MMA Welterweight bout
Emmanuel Onyedikachi beat De’von Morris by technical decision

MMA Featherweight bout
Ryoji Kudo beat Jerry Olsim by unanimous decision

Muay Thai Atomweight bout
Sandra Godvik beat Ayaka Miyauchi by unanimous decision

MMA Bantamweight bout
Min Jong Song beat Kodai Murata by unanimous decision

MMA Flyweight bout
Nobutaka Naito beat Alex Schild by unanimous decision

MMA Bantamweight bout
Hikaru Yoshino beat Chan Samart by unanimous decision

MMA Atomweight bout
So Yul Kim beat Satomi Takano by unanimous decision

MMA Lightweight bout
Otgonbaatar Nergui beat Takuya Nagata by submission (guillotine) at 4:10 minutes of round 1

MMA Featherweight bout
Asuka Tsubaki beat Long La by TKO (strikes) at 4:27 minutes of round 2

MMA Lightweight bout
Ahmed Faez Anuar beat Ryuichi Yamashita by submission (triangle) at 4:55 minutes of round 1

Kickboxing Lightweight bout
Sean Rush beat Koki Shimokawa by TKO at 2:11 minutes of round 2

MMA Atomweight bout
Yuko Suzuki beat Edilah Johany by submission (armbar) at 2:12 minutes of round 1

MMA Catchweight bout
Hiroyasu Sakurai beat Shimamura Naoki by split decision

Kickboxing Catchweight bout
Shoa Arii beat Lehe by TKO at 1:54 minutes of round 3

Kickboxing Strawweight bout
Kanta Motoyama beat Cep Holik by unanimous decision

Warrior bonuses were awarded to So Yul Kim, Satomi Takano, Ayaka Miyauchi, Sandra Godvik, Yuko Suzuki and Shoa Arii for standout performances.